Solider

Writing

I slowly walked away, the ocean red behind me. The innocence within my spirits is dead and cast away. I am a solider now. Pity and honor cast away I fight the toughest war. I watch the love I held within my hands burn in the flames of innocence.  Sermons lead with shotgun blasts and burned fingers and love. I don’t hear these words that are preached to me, I am a soldier, a solider until the end of days.

My finger tips are burning. I see her face, I look into her eyes. I am frozen to the bone; I never wanted to see your face.

I am a soldier, meek and the least noble yet here I am fighting a war.

Leave a Reply

